Peter J. Pantuso to receive Alumni Award of Distinction

Peter Pantuso

The Pitt-Bradford Alumni Association will honor Peter J. Pantuso '73-'75, president and chief executive officer of the American Bus Association, with its Alumni Award of Distinction.


            Dr. Livingston Alexander, university president, will present the award during Commencement ceremonies at 2 p.m. Sunday, April 29.


            “Pete Pantuso has risen to national prominence as one of the most consequential leaders in the travel and tourism industry,” Alexander said. “We're proud of his many accomplishments, and he's most deserving of the Alumni Award of Distinction.”


            Pantuso was nominated by his Pitt-Bradford classmate Craig Hartburg '73-'75.


            In his role as president and CEO of the ABA, he is responsible for day-to-day operations and serves as the president of the National Bus Traffic Association and the ABA Foundation.


            Under his leadership, the association has grown to become North America's largest motor coach, tour and travel association with 3,800 members representing 65 percent of all motor coaches on the road.


            Additionally, he oversaw the growth of the ABA Foundation to become a $5 million organization providing needed industry research and scholarship funds.


            Before joining the association as its president and CEO, Pantuso was vice president of government affairs for the Rubber Manufacturers Association, vice president of government affairs for the National Confectioners Association, and director of government affairs for the Glass Packaging Institute.


            A Bradford native, Pantuso attended Pitt-Bradford for two years before four-year degrees were offered and finished earning his Bachelor of Arts degree in economics and political science at the University of Pittsburgh. He earned a Master of Arts degree from George Washington University.


            He serves on the U.S. Chamber of Commerce's Committee of 100 leading association executives and is on the boards of the American Highway Users Association, the Roadway Safety Foundation, the Motorcoach Marketing Council and the Boy Scouts of America - National Capital Area Council.


            He is also an appointee to the U.S. Department of Transportation's Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Council and the National Advisory Committee of Travel and Tourism Infrastructure.


            In 2007, he established the Armeda and Vincent Pantuso Scholarship at Pitt-Bradford, which has helped 21 students since its inception.


Candidates for the Alumni Award of Distinction must have attended Pitt-Bradford, but may have graduated from other institutions. Candidates are evaluated based on their level of professional achievement and service to the community. Any members of the Pitt-Bradford community, including alumni, faculty, staff, administration, students and advisory board members, may submit nominations.


            Previous honorees have included George Repchick '82, Divia Thani Daswani '01, Richard Johnson '88-'90, Tamra Minnier '81, and Dr. Lee Colosimo '65-'67.