Special Endowed Funds

The University of Pittsburgh at Bradford has several established special endowed funds that were created by donors who saw a need to help students attend conferences, assist them in conducting research projects, to enhance or upgrade technology that is available to students on campus, and in some cases monetary awards are given to students for their outstanding scholarly work.

A gift establishing an endowed special fund provides a perpetual award to support students. Awards are made from earnings on an annual basis once the fund reaches the minimum endowment level. A minimum of $10,000 is needed to endow a special endowed fund; $100,000 at the distinguished level. Newly established special endowed funds will be recognized two ways. First, the special endowed fund name can be chosen by the donor to honor a donor, a family member, or other person or a business or organization or in memory of a loved one. Second, the special endowed fund will be recognized on the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford’s website.

Below is a list of Special Endowed Funds that have been established at the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford:

  • Livingston and Evelyn Alexander Technology Fund – established by Dr. and Mrs. Livingston Alexander
  • Dr. Carol A. Baker Undergraduate Student Research Fund – established by an Anonymous Donor
  • Bradford Area Public Library – Frances Motty Beck Foundation Student Internship Fund – established by the Bradford Area Public Library
  • Bromeley Family Theater Endowment Fund - established by the Pembroke Foundation
  • Control Chief Endowment Fund for Technology – established by the Control Chief Corporation
  • County National Bank Technology Fund – established by County National Bank
  • Paul C. Duke Technology Fund – established by Paul C. Duke III
  • Patsy and Frances Fazio Technology Endowment Fund – established by Mr. Frances “Gene” Fazio
  • Fine Arts/Communication Arts Endowment Fund - established by the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford
  • Zelda N. Hyatt Undergraduate Student Research Fund – established by Dr. and Mrs. Richard E. McDowell, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph E. LaBarca, Mr. and Mrs. Russell P. LaBarca, Mrs. Genevieve Woods, and Mr. and Mrs. Tom L. McDowell Memorial Fund
  • Ito Shoji Endowed Fund – established by the Ito Shoji Company Ltd., Tokyo
  • Richard S. Johnson Endowed Fund for the Arts – established by Richard S. Johnson
  • Dr. Vincent T. Kohler Award for Scholarly Work in the Humanities Fund – established by Pitt-Bradford Faculty and Staff
  • Dr. Robert C. Laing Creative Arts Awards – established by Dr. Robert C. Laing, Friends, Alumni, Faculty, and Staff
  • Melvin Technology Fund – established by Glenn Melvin
  • Northwestern Pennsylvania Camp Association Endowment Fund – established by Northwestern Pennsylvania Camp Association
  • Mr. and Mrs. J.R. Russell Osborne Entrepreneurial Management Quasi-Endowment Fund – established by Elizabeth C. Osborne Charitable Trust
  • PBAA Teaching Excellence Award – established by Pitt-Bradford Alumni
  • Donny Johnson Athletics Endowment Fund – established by Dr. Richard and Ruth McDowell
  • SpKuLeHaS Student Research Award and Scholarship Fund – established by Dr. Dessie Kuster Severson